Tasty Tuesday, November 25

Ok, ok, I know it’s a day late, this is Wednesday but I got tied up yesterday evening waiting in line for my next new phone.
Today, in honor of the holidays is pecan pie! This is my hubby’s Aunt Murnice’s recipe and it’s the best I have ever had.
The pecan tree is the state tree of Texas and is a native here, many trees have been planted in yards and parks and the smart scavenger can harvest their own crop of pecans. BUT…make sure that you have permission to pick up pecans if they fall on someone’s yard or sidewalk. My current supply comes from someone I work with who gathered them in her yard in return for a pie.

Pecan pie
1 frozen pie shell (yes, I cheat here, never having learned the art of pie dough)

1/2 cup sugar*
1 cup dark Karo
1/4 tsp salt
1 Tbsp flour
1 tsp vanilla
1 Tbsp butter, melted
1 1/4 cup pecan halves
3 eggs

Preheat oven to 400 degrees, remove frozen pie crust from package, let defrost. Thoroughly prick bottom and sides with a fork. Place on baking sheet and bake on middle oven rack for 10-12 minutes until light brown. Cool completely and pour filling into crust.
Reduce temperature to 375 degrees, pour in filling and bake 40 to 50 minutes until set or until a knife comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack.

*I use unrefined sugar for a deeper flavor.

image

So, say something.

